Ready for British Open Golf Championship 2012?

It will be held at Royal Lytham & St Anne’s Golf Club in Lancashire, between 19th-22nd July. From Sunday 15th to Wednesday 18thof July players are going to practice throughout the day.

The Open will have a prize fund of £5 million, with £900,000 going to the winner. 156 competitors will play 36 holes of stroke play on Thursday 19 and Friday 20of July.  The event is a 72-hole stroke play tournament with a cut after the first 36 holes limited to the top 70 players and ties. They will play on Saturday 21 and Sunday 22 of July. Uniquely among the four major championships, The Open features a four-hole play-off for all golfers tied at the end of regulation, with the play-off continuing into sudden-death holes if competitors remain tied after four holes. The Champion will be the player with the lowest four hole aggregate. The presentation ceremony will be held immediately after conclusion of play.

For more details please visit the the Open 2012.

Course Guide information provided here.

For further information re train timetables, buses, etc please view here

Temporary Traffic information


Enjoy the ultimate Open 2012 experience in Lytham St Anne’s!


The Open Championship History

The Open Championship is the oldest of the four major championships in professional golf. It’s the only major held outside the United States and is administered by the R&A, which is the governing body of golf outside of the U.S. and Mexico. The Open is played on the weekend of the third Friday in July. It is the third major to take place each year, following the Masters Tournament and the U.S. Open, and precedes the PGA Championship. The current champion is Darren Clarke who won the 2011 Open at Royal St George’s Golf Club in Sandwich, Kent.

This year Open Championship is held at Royal Lytham & St. Anne’s Golf Club in Lytham St. Annes,Lancashire. The event takes place every year on one of nine links courses inScotlandorEngland. Royal Lytham & St Anne’s Golf Club in Lytham St Anne’s, is one of the courses in the Open Championship rotation. This Golf course first hosted The Open in 1926, and entered the rotation in 1952.

The Open Championship was first played on 17 October 1860 at Prestwick Golf Club inScotland. The inaugural tournament was restricted to professionals and attracted a field of eight Scottish golfers, who played three rounds ofPrestwick’s twelve-hole course in a single day.

There are several medals and trophies that are, or have been, given out for various achievements during The Open Championship.

 Challenge Belt – awarded to the winner from 1860 until 1870

The Golf Champion Trophy (commonly known as the Claret Jug) – replaced the Challenge Belt and has been awarded to the winner since 1873.

Gold medal – awarded to the winner. First given out in 1872 when the Claret Jug was not yet ready, but since awarded to all champions.

Silver medal – awarded since 1949 to the highest finishing amateur.

Bronze medal – awarded since 1972 to all other amateurs playing in the final round.


Published Date: 16th July 2012
Category: Lytham St Annes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>